I got a response from Comet


Eventually this afternoon a got a phone call, I knew it was from Comet because the phone number was blocked, this is a tactic they employ to keep they’re real numbers secret, so they can charge their disgruntled customers a call charge of at least 5ppm by calling 08 numbers.

It was further confirmed by a voice telling me he was from Comet investigations, apparently they had received my letter, and after investigation, were now going to refund the 10% re-stocking fee (£7).

They gave me a choice of either going to the store and having my credit card credited, or having a cheque in the post, as I was at work at the time I opted for the cheque, although this will take 7 – 10 days.

The whole purpose of this exercise was not about the money, but the principle of why Comet though it was right to treat their customers in this way.

As well as a refund, the head office will investigate the complaint I made about their staff and report back to their regional sales manager.

A few days ago, when I spoke to the store manager (Emma king), I offered the option of providing me with a full refund and going away a satisfied customer, if she had taken that option, the matter would have ended, but she chose not to.

Here is the email response from Comet confirming my refund, please feel free to bear all of this in mind should you find yourself in a similar situation with Comet

021710_2153_Igotarespon1

Subject:My Complaint

Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Response (Gary Mulligan) 17/02/2010

Dear Mr Murray

Thank you for your e-mail dated 15th February

I apologise that we did not reply to this sooner, however as we had spoken to you about this issue over the phone in the first instance this is why your e-mail was not initially responded to within our advertised timeframe of 24 hours.

We have completed our investigations into this matter,and the case are going to refund the £7 charge which we will send you in the way of a cheque which will be with you with in 7 to 10 days.

One of my colleagues hopefully will have phoned you before you receive his response

In the meantime, please accept my apologies for the delay.

Regards

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s